About Me: Shirley Coffman

Shirley school picture

About me: Shirley Coffman

I am a cake decorator with over 20 years of experience. I have not ever worked in a cake shop, but would love to! Cake decorating is a hobby for me that has taken on a life of its own!

Teaching junior high students is my career. I love their enthusiasm. They are challenging and fun, all at the same time. I have been teaching for about 18 years. I have a Master's degree in Elementary Education.

I got into cake decorating quite by accident. A neighbor suggested to me that we have a baby shower for a friend. I told her I could make the cake. I was thinking about just slapping some frosting on a cake, but she had other ideas. She didn't pressure, just brought over her Wilton cake decorating stuff to loan me. I was new in the neighborhood (Adana, Turkey) and didn't have all of our furnishing delivered or unpacked just yet! I took the tools and thanked her. I went back to my new home and thought "Wow, she wants a real cake!" I bought a Wilton yearbook from the BX and selected a design from there, a very easy sheet cake design! Everyone loved it and soon the neighbors were calling for me to make cakes. I was hooked!

While we lived in Turkey, we had a maid and a gardener, and I was a stay at home mom. I used my time reading about cake decorating from the base library. There was no Internet then (1986-1988) We barely had T.V. there. I practiced making roses and trying to get buttercream smooth on a cake. Thankfully, my maid, Phyliss (not her real name, just the American name she adopted to make it easy for us Americans) would clean up and not ever complain! I miss her so much!

I started using the money from the cakes I sold to purchase more cake decorating tools and then more orders just kept coming in! One man that had one of my cakes told me I had a gift for decorating cakes! I still carry those words in my heart and strive to make the best looking cakes possible.

I am a cake enthusiast! I also love to write, which is why I thought about doing this website. It combines both of my hobbies perfectly.

I am married (34 years) and have been a military wife for part of that time. I have lived in Turkey for two years and while there, I visited Germany, Luxembourg, and Spain.

I love poodles, the color pink, and depression glass!

That is all about me, Shirley Coffman!

Home from About Me, Shirley Coffman